The Seaford Hotel (review)

Before we decided to eat at the Seaford Hotel (31/01/2012) we checked out the menu online (here) and we were pleasantly surprised that it boasted some gluten free meals, I say some because they have three (which is more than I get at home in most places that aren’t La Tasca). So we booked a table for 7 and headed for the door.

Initially the appearance of the hotel wowed me with a sculpture and water feature but once inside it resembled any ordinary funpub in the UK … with the exception that the menu was not as drab. To eat at the Seaford Hotel you must chose your meal and order at the bar, again like a UK funpub. The place was clean and tidy and well laid out, clean and tidy so it really is a pleasant environment.

We were all deciding on a drink and I am a bit of a fussy drinker, I can’t have lagers or ales or bitters for obvious reasons and there are very few wines I like. I usually drink sweet flavoured ciders or alcoholic ginger beer (unless I’m on the spirits) … they had neither and I found that disappointing. So we opted to share two bottles of house wine (dry Sauvignon Blanc and medium sweet Chardonnay), although not really to my sweet taste the Chardonnay was drinkable.

There were some items on there that I would have loved to try if they were gluten free, however, the gluten free choices were not that bad either. The menu is reasonably low priced and most meals fall between the $15-25 mark up, at my exchange rate it works out around £10.08 – 16.80 I was torn between the Mediterranean Lamb Salad or the Risotto of the day and I settled on the lamb, and boy am I glad I did. It came out looking beautiful and tasted better than expected, I wasn’t asked how I wanted my lamb cooked and although I usually have red meat as rare as possible the lamb being medium-well done really did not stop me enjoying my meal.

Overall the venue was clean and well presented, the staff were helpful (even when they had no onion rings for my uncle they offered an alternative or a refund) and the prices were low. All in all I had a really good meal and would go back again.

IMG_20130204_210746

 

Mediterranean Lamb Salad

You can find the location of this hotel on the map on my Gluten Free World page, as well as other eateries.

 

Categories: Australia, Gluten Free, Reviews | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

The Gluten Free Blogger

A gluten free, coeliac-friendly blog by Sarah Howells covering gluten free recipes, reviews, and living a healthy life - with plenty of gluten free pizza!

the gluten-free notebooks

Or, how I learned to stop worrying and (tried to) love quinoa

thevegpod.wordpress.com/

For all of us that are trying to Eat More Plants

Little Missed Gluten

A coeliac living in the glorious south east of England...

Naturally Gluten Free

a curated GF collection

Heifer 12 x 12

A global blogging adventure to visit Heifer International projects in 12 countries in 12 months in 2012

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

