Gluten Free in New South Wales

So I thought that I would have an absolute nightmare getting gluten free food, either in supermarkets or out and about, but I have to say … the Aussies have it down.

My first day here I got some GF cerial, pasta and some packet meals from Coles supermarkets, a couple of days later I got GF wraps from Woolworths and they even have massive GF frozen section and just today I got GF bread from the IGA. I have literally self catered like a queen and even if the stuff isn’t in the GF area it will often say “contains gluten” or “gluten free”.

IMG_20130122_210256

wpid-IMG_20130122_210143.jpg

IMG_20130122_210222

IMG_20130123_153319

IMG_20130123_153230

IMG_20130123_153150

We even got some ingredients to try out a nectarine polenta cake…worked a treat.

IMG_20130120_144744

IMG_20130122_210418

How could I complain about any of that?!

So supermarkets have it sorted, well what about eating out. Truth is a few days ago we went to Newcastle NSW and we got a bit peckish. We were walking along Wharf Road and spotted the Queens Wharf Kitchen, it was still breakfast time so I was thinking I wouldn’t have a chance…how wrong I was! The waitress was fantastic and I got gluten free toast!

IMG_20130120_080643

We walked a little further down the wharf and I saw a restaurant menu in the window of Blue Water Pizza, they offered GF pizza for a surcharge of $4.50.

Since then I have craved pizza. So tonight I got one…from The Supreme Pizza in Kincumber and it was TO DIE FOR. There was just one problem, it’s near the Dragon Paradise Chinese takeaway offering GF … it’s only a problem because I’ll end up eating too much and needing new shorts!

IMG_20130122_210343

IMG_20130123_153348

IMG_20130122_213329

Categories: Australia, Gluten Free, Reviews | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

the travelling travelator

journeys from middle england

The Gluten Free Blogger

A gluten free, coeliac-friendly blog by Sarah Howells covering gluten free recipes, reviews, and living a healthy life - with plenty of gluten free pizza!

the gluten-free notebooks

Or, how I learned to stop worrying and (tried to) love quinoa

thevegpod.wordpress.com/

For all of us that are trying to Eat More Plants

Little Missed Gluten

A coeliac living in the glorious south east of England...

Naturally Gluten Free

the good GF stuff

Heifer 12 x 12

A global blogging adventure to visit Heifer International projects in 12 countries in 12 months in 2012

the vibes

Dreams of a Free Spirit

